ORCID US Community Newsletter – December 2019

The ORCID US Community continues to grow as we wrap up our second calendar year. This is our third newsletter, featuring updates from across the community over the past 6 months. Past newsletters can be found in the ORCID US Community Blog. To contribute to future newsletters, please email orcidus@lyrasis.org

Community Snapshot 

2019 Year-End Member Survey

To help assess our progress so far and plan for ORCID US Community resources and activities for next year, please complete this brief survey (5 min.) to give your input by December 31, 2019.

Community Call: Partnering with Internal Stakeholders (January 16)

Join us for a community call on Thursday, January 16, 2020, where discussion will focus on partnering with internal institutional stakeholders for ORCID adoption (see agenda).

  • When: Thurs. Jan, 16, 2020 @ 2pm Eastern/ 1pm Central/ 12pm Mountain/ 11am Pacific
  • Register to attend the Zoom call & get a calendar invite (call will be recorded)

Webinar: ORCID API Basics & Benefits (February 13)

What is the ORCID API, how does it work, and why should you care? Join us on Thursday, February 13, 2020, to learn about the basics of the ORCID API (which stands for “application programming interface”) and the benefits of integrating the ORCID API with local institutional systems; no prior knowledge required.

  • When: Thurs. Feb. 13, 2020 @ 3pm Eastern/ 2pm Central/ 1pm Mountain/ 12pm Pacific
  • Register to attend the webinar & get a calendar invite (webinar will be recorded)

In-person meeting in San Diego (March 30)

Save the date! This spring we will be having our very first in-person meeting for ORCID US Community members in conjunction with the Coalition for Networked Information (CNI) Spring 2020 Membership Meeting in San Diego. Seats are limited, so please Register to save your spot.

If you are interested in presenting a brief lightning talk at the meeting, and/or if you are interested in participating on an ORCID-related panel at CNI, please email orcidus@lyrasis.org

ORCID US Community Awards 

The ORCID US Community Awards encourage and provide recognition for participation, sharing, and achievements in the ORCID US Community. If someone in the community has been especially helpful to you, please consider nominating them for an award. Winners will be announced in May 2020; see award categories and details, and stay tuned for more announcements as we approach “award season” in May. Last year’s winners can be found in our June 2019 newsletter.

New Community Resources 

All ORCID US Community resources can be found online on our Community Resources page and our Technical Support page. New resources added from June-December 2019 include:

Rescognito: Recognize your Researchers

Rescognito is a new ORCID-based platform that allows individuals and institutions to recognize anyone with an ORCID iD for a wide array of activities, shifting the focus of scholarly assessment to include a more well-rounded view of contributions, attribution, and impact. You can learn more about this new tool in ORCID’s recent blog post: Using ORCID to Re-imagine Research Attribution as well as our recent ORCID US webinar: Structured Recognition via Rescognito & ORCID. If your institution is interested in partnering with Rescognito to recognize your affiliated researchers, please contact orcidus@lyrasis.org

Membership Updates 

The ORCID US Community has reached 125 members!  We are currently the largest ORCID consortium in the world. Learn more about other ORCID consortia across the globe.

New Members since July 2019: 

  • California State University, Fullerton
  • Lehigh University
  • Georgetown University Medical Center
  • Texas State University
  • University of California, Los Angeles
  • University of California, San Francisco
  • University of Maryland School of Medicine
  • William & Mary

What else are members up to? 

Presenting on ORCID: 

Promoting ORCID to researchers: 

In Case You Missed It: