The LYRASIS Board of Trustees has approved the following candidates for open Trustee positions. The Board of Trustees is the governing body for LYRASIS Voter representatives from LYRASIS and DuraSpace should have received their ballot. The voting period is open from June 14 – June 24, 2019.

Elected Trustee positions are determined by majority vote of those eligible Members casting votes through their appointed voting representative. The size and composition of the Board and qualifications of Trustees are defined in the LYRASIS Bylaws, available here.

Elected candidates will serve three-year terms, beginning July 1, 2019 and ending June 30, 2022.

Elect Two (2):

State Library Agency or Group Representative

Wolfram Horstmann is the Director of the Göttingen State and University Library and University Librarian of the University of Göttingen (Germany) and teaches electronic publishing and digital science as professor in the iSchool at the Humboldt University of Berlin. He is an executive member and Chair of the Steering Group on Scholarly Communication and Research Infrastructure for the European Research Library Association LIBER, active in the Research Data Alliance (RDA), leads the German consortium of the European Digital Infrastructure for the Humanities DARIAH and is scientific coordinator for the Open Access initiative OpenAIRE and executive board member of the Confederation of Open Access repositories (COAR). In science policy, he is appointed to in standing committees in the German Research Foundation (DFG), the Alliance of Science Organisations in Germany and the European Open Science Cloud. Prior to his current position, he was the Associate Director at the Bodleian Libraries of the University of Oxford, UK and Chief Information Officer at Bielefeld University, Germany. He has worked in Computational Neuroscience and made his PhD on questions in Philosophy of Science before he turned his attention towards digital science, scholarly communication and libraries. CV: 

Kathhleen Moeller-Peiffer is the Deputy State Librarian for Library Support Services at the New Jersey State Library. Before rejoining the New Jersey State Library, Kathleen was the State Librarian of New Mexico since 2015. Ms. Moeller-Peiffer served in a variety of positions at the New Jersey State Library, including Grants Specialist, Director of Library Development, Associate State Librarian for Legislative and Special Projects, and Deputy State Librarian for Lifelong Learning. Prior to joining the New Jersey State Library, Ms. Moeller-Peiffer worked in public libraries as Head of the Information Technology Department, Durham County Library (NC), county librarian, Orange County Library (NC) and assistant county librarian, Lake City Public Library (FL). Ms. Moeller-Peiffer has also held a variety of leadership positions within ALA’s Association of Specialized, Government and Cooperative Library Agencies, including the elected position of President. She has just been elected to ALA Council. Ms. Moeller-Peiffer is a graduate of the University of South Carolina at Columbia. She also holds an MSLS from the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at Florida State University in Tallahassee.

Michael Scott is the State Librarian for Iowa. Previous t0 this position, he was the Assistant Director for Southeastern Libraries Cooperating (SELCO), the regional public library system serving 11 counties in Southeastern Minnesota. He has also worked as the library manager at medical systems in Minneapolis, MN, and Orlando, FL. Michael received his Masters of Library Science from the University of Missouri in 1994 with nearly 30 years of experience of working in libraries.

Michael is currently the President-Elect for the Western Council of State Libraries and is currently on the Chief Officers of State Library Agencies’ (COSLA) Nominating Committee. He has served also served as the Legislative Chair and ALA Chapter Councilor for the Minnesota Library Association, and Chair of both the Twin Cities Biomedical Consortium and the Tampa Bay Medical Library Network.

Elect One (1)

Academic Library Representative

Alexia Hudson-Ward is the Azariah Smith Root Director of Libraries for Oberlin College and Conservatory. Her transition to Oberlin follows a career of distinction as a tenured associate librarian at Penn State University Abington College, entertainment editor for The Philadelphia Tribune (the nation’s oldest continuing African American newspaper), promotions coordinator for WRTI-FM/Temple University Public Radio, and a marketing manager within The Coca-Cola Company’s Foodservice Division.  She is the recipient of several honors including named as one of fifty “Mover and Shakers” by Library Journal in 2008 and the “Outstanding Young Alumni” awardee by the University of Pittsburgh’s School of Computing and Information in 2013. A former member of the Executive Board of the American Library Association (2012-2015) and the current Vice-Chair/Chair Elect of ACRL’s College Libraries Section, she holds a Master of Library and Information Science from the University of Pittsburgh, a Bachelor of Arts degree in English Literature and African American Studies from Temple University and is currently a doctoral candidate in the Managerial Leadership in the Information Professions program at Simmons University

Ashley Ireland is the Dean of Murray State University Libraries, a regional, publicly-funded comprehensive institution in Kentucky. In that role, her responsibilities include overseeing traditional and evolving library services, the university archives, the Office of Research and Creative Activity, and Wrather Museum.  Before that, she served as the sciences and agriculture liaison librarian and the Director of User & Instruction Services. She has a Master’s of Science in Library Science from the University of Kentucky and a Bachelor’s degree in English literature and sociology from Murray State University. She has researched and published on a wide range of topics, including the relationship between academic libraries and student retention and communicating that value.  She has served on various ACRL committees, chaired the Executive Committee for the Federation of Kentucky Academic Libraries, served on the Kentucky Virtual Library ad hoc committee for user authentication, and regularly reviews for the College and Research Libraries journal.    

Elect One (1)

Special Library Representative

Lee Ceperich has served as Director of the Margaret R. and Robert M. Freeman Library at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts since 2010 and has held positions at VMFA since 2005. Prior to her arrival at VMFA she held positions at The Library of Virginia and the Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution. She has served as a consultant for institutional special collections, as a reviewer for NEH grant programs and as an adjunct faculty member for Catholic University of America in Washington, D.C.

Ceperich received an MLIS degree from Catholic University, an MA in Museum Studies from Virginia Commonwealth University and a BA in Art History from James Madison University. Professional affiliations include ARLIS/NA, ALA (CALM, ACRL, RBMS) AAM, VAM, and WALRC.