We are honored to announce John Bracken, Executive Director of the Digital Public Library of America, as our 2018 Annual Member Summit Keynote Speaker! This year’s Member Summit will be held on October 24 and 25, 2018 at the Nashville Public Library with John delivering his keynote on the 25th.

As Executive Director of the Digital Public Library of America, Bracken leads a nonprofit digital library powered by a national network of thousands of libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions. DPLA makes millions of cultural heritage materials freely accessible to all, collaborates with partners including LYRASIS to maximize access to ebooks for libraries and readers, and works to equip libraries for the challenges of the digital age.

John joined DPLA in December of 2017 after nearly two decades as a philanthropic investor in digital media, media policy, and innovation. He most recently served as Vice President for Technology Innovation at the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, where he oversaw the Knight News Challenge, Knight’s Prototype Fund, and other efforts to improve the creation, curation, and accessibility of information. He previously led innovation programs at the MacArthur Foundation and the Ford Foundation.

For our Summit, he will be sharing lessons from two decades of efforts to leverage the Internet to improve society through libraries, archives, museums and other civic institutions. John’s background with fostering cultural heritage transformation and innovation will leave you inspired and armed with new ideas for your own institution. His keynote will be followed by a Q&A session with Robert Miller, CEO of LYRASIS.

The LYRASIS Annual Member Summit will be held in Nashville on October 24-25 at the Nashville Public Library. John’s keynote will build upon his expertise on our Summit theme, Experiments in Innovation – encouraging actionable ideas on the challenges and upcoming trends in the fields of knowledge management, sustainable programs and community impact.

As a LYRASIS member, you are invited to this annual conference at no charge.